Contract Completed

I as I was getting ready to finalize a contract on the sale of the Lakehouse Rob and I renovated as our last project together, I began thinking…

I’ve entered into and finished many contracts in my life.

🚣🚣🚣🚣🚣 🏊🏊🏊🏊🏊🏊🏊

When I was 20, I had no idea that the vows of marriage would be the ultimate contract to finish. I made some intense promises in those vows thirty years ago. I agreed to love, honor, and obey. I vowed to forsake all others. πŸ‘°πŸ‘°πŸ‘°πŸ‘° πŸ‘°Β  The term of the contract was until “death do us part”.

I did my part to stay in the contract and abide by all the terms and conditions . Usually both parties negotiate a win/win before they sign the contract, but if you think about it, the marriage vows don’t really set you up for a successful ending.Β  In fact, the finalization of this contract has seems like the least win/win negotiation of my entire life.

The Bible talks about “counting your costs before building a tower”. This is one of those times I didn’t fully understand the cost of a marriage. Especially a truly wonderful one, the best relationship of my life. Although I wouldn’t change a thing, it doesn’t meet the completion any easier. One thing that I would have been like to been reminded of in my marriage contract: the joy and happiness comes along DURING the journey of the marriage, not at the end of it.Β  When my marriage contract ended with the death of my husband, I regretted that the journey didn’t last a lifetime. But then I realized, “Ahhh, but it did. All the days of HIS lifetime.” 🏁🏁🏁🏁🏁 🏁🏁🏁🏁🏁 Rob, my gift to you, my Beloved is that you never had to live a day on this side of heaven without me.. And that makes my heart rejoice for I know it was your heart’s desire to go before me. Also my love, your journey carried enough suffering and sorrows. The joy of having your love and being able to love you for 30 years will carry me through the rest of my life. I celebrate you and our last project we truly completed together…our marriage! 🏑🏑🏑🏑🏑🏑🏑🏑🏑

IMG_9230

Leave a Reply

